The Frustration of Taking a Rest From Writing

So I was looking over the first three books in the Morrow Family Saga: 1950’s and noticed something disturbing. In Hand Me Down World, I started Natalia out at twelve. In Dreams, she is ten or eleven. And in Laughing,  she is yet another age. Apparently, in my writing, my intent to start out with a ten-year-old Natalia was unintentionally ignored and her age misstated.

I am surprised that no one who has taken time to read the serialized books here caught the age mistakes. I guess that the story is good enough that no one notices the discrepancies. That is both surprising and flattering. I suppose that this means that I am doing my job as a writer.

Anyway, the actual chronological age order is as follows:

1950: 10 years

1951: 11 years

1952: 12 years

1953: 13 years.

etc.

At the same time, I am wondering if I should begin at age 9 or keep it according to the original plot.

Either way, this means that I do have to pull the books in order to do a wee bit editing. But that is the only bit I have to do, which is good. Perhaps, after I do the fixes, the books will take off in sales. After all, there is always a reason why things aren’t a sudden success, and sometimes it is something small.

