A Nice Walk Through Ohio…Sort of

Ohio is coming along quite nicely. I got three chapters done last night despite my editor-cat’s attempts to keep me from doing so. I am currently sitting at “chapter`14”, so only have ten more chapters to go. I will be glad to get done with the year 1970.

It is snowing outside, so looks like it’ll be a white Christmas/Yule for me. Unless it does actually get back up to the 40’s, then it’ll be a muddy holiday season. Still, with as cold as it is today, I cannot see tomorrow reaching 39/40 at all. It is something around 17 but feels-if you go out-like it is  minus 17. Or it does to me. Then, again, I don’t like the cold…or extreme heat.

So, back to the story at hand, you have noticed that Ohio doesn’t actually take place in the state, but is named because the events of 1970-and the news of the year-revolved around the violent end to the protests that took place at Kent State in Ohio. It was the first time a President had allowed force to be used to end a peaceful protest where not a single person involved was armed and not many of those who actually died were a part of the protests. It was the first nail in the coffin where Nixon’s political integrity was concerned. Four years later (and also at the core of the book slated to cover 1974), Watergate would put an end to what had been thought to be a promising political career and a Presidency that had been rife with controversy and rumors.

Oops. I gave a spoiler. sorry. I know I promised never to do so, but Everything you will be reading in subsequent books in the 1970’s series will lead up to what happens in 1974. The last half will deal with the rise and fall of disco and the free sex and drugs that went along with it.

I love the music from that era, even the disco music. But, then, I love the old rock-n-roll. 1950’s, 1960’s 1970’s and 1980’s. the music of the 1990’s wasn’t bad, but I am an old school metal/blues metal head. BM was always lumped in with “Glam” but really wasn’t. Glam was glam, BM was BM. Some had to go “glam” in their looks (big hair and makeup) to make it in the biz.

I can tell you that the one thing that you will find, despite the changes in what was popular, Matt is never a sellout. He doesn’t do disco to remain popular. For some reason, though he tries it and succeeds with a couple songs, he sees what will happen and refuses to become too entrenched in any genre. Though he does change with the times, he doesn’t compromise his musical principles and he remains a popular figure both on his own and as a studio musician.

Think of him as KISS meets the Rolling Stones in a single person. Throw in a jazz master who has been in every music revolution and has adapted to the changes that every upheaval has brought and that is him.A musician’s musician.

Anyway, I am going to go back to watching the snow fall and writing on Ohio. After that, I will be doing most of my homework and possibly playing a few games. My next post will be the next chapter in the ongoing story of Matt Morrow and his family…

