Why I Haven’t Been Working On Any More Books In The Morrow Family Saga

I suppose I should give an update where The Morrow Family Saga is concerned. As you know, I wanted to write my current town of residence into the story through the local rodeo and a nearby state park. Unfortunately, I have not received any word from the county historical society on the information I desired from them–namely the acts that were at the rodeo in 1953/54 and the town’s overall set up (where what business was located along the square and in town…etc.) during the time frame of the story.

As an author, I like to keep things authentic and accurate. Without accurate information, I cannot write a good, historically accurate story. I spent three weeks researching the plot to make sure it was as accurate as possible. I didn’t want a Happy Days style tale of innocence. I wanted the dark, political side of the “age of innocence”.

I wanted to set the scene for the events of the 1960’s; every piece of legislation , everything from the McCarran Act to J.Edgar Hoover’s witch hunt in DC, and beyond. By the “summer of love”, I want to have the scene set for the volatility of the 60’s. Vietnam. Korea.

With ten books per series, each series sets the stage for the one that follows. At the moment, though, I am hoping just to get through the first decade. Although I could work on the 1970’s, I really don’t want to jump ahead.

 

