Last Respects

Last Respects

(sax intro)

As I stand here in silence
I wonder why you had to die
Before you had a chance to live
Why weren’t you given a chance?
Why do I have to cry
When I just wanted to give?

(A/E guitar and keyboards, drums)

I remember all the things
I took for granted
And I know now what it’s like
To lose the one thing I worked for all my life
And the sorrow it brings
Is now firmly planted
In a single strike
Into my soul like the blade of a knife.

(electric guitar)

chorus
As I look at the marker
They put on your grave
I know that I’ve come
To pay my last respects

(sax)

As I look at the flowers
I know that they really don’t
They don’t do you service, no
And I stand for hours
With regrets that really won’t
They won’t subside, no, they won’t let go.

(A/E guitar, keyboards, drums)

You were my baby boy
Nothing can replace the loss
I feel when I think of you
I guess I just can’t let go, I’ll always love you
Now only sorrow lives where there should be joy
No I’m not over your loss
Yes, I’m still a little blue
But I guess I can look forward to seeing you when my life is through.

(electric guitars)

chorus
As I look at the marker
They put on your grave
I know that I’ve come
To pay my last respects

(sax solo)
(guitar solo)
(sax)

As I sit here in an empty house
I wanna break down and cry
Yeah my hands start to shake and I grow weak
Why do I feel like a louse?
But I can only bear a sigh
In this world that’s gone bleak

(A/E guitar, keyboards, drums)

It’s all a part of sorrow
I suppose, oh I suppose
But I don’t know, I don’t know
If I’ll ever let it go
Perhaps maybe tomorrow
We’ll see how it goes
Perhaps then, my pain won’t show
I don’t know.

(electric guitar)

chorus
As I look at the marker
They put on your grave
I know that I’ve come
To pay my last respects.

(sax solo)

(Guitar solo out)

JTB, 1997

2 thoughts on “Last Respects

    1. loss, of any kind, is a hard thing to go through. I have long since buried two friends. One was an old soldier, the other was young and buried before his time. I have watched friends come and go, some fading to memory simply because we drifted apart while others faded due to premature death. None wee more painful than losing the hope and promise of a child. That pain is one I still dance with every day.

      Memory drives me to write, and my muse is a demanding one. I am glad that what I wrote has touched you. I hope that you can find peace in your moment of pain.

Comments are closed.