Two Chapters More…

I have two chapters ready to go. Well, Almost. I do have a full chapter written and most of a second. I hope that flipping back and forth between the past and the “now” of the story isn’t losing anyone.

I have pulled our intrepid protagonist out of his dream/memories to bring you what is going on in his here and now. I have him sober and lucid. He is with a member of his family.

The journey is this: from suicidal alcoholic to realizing what he truly has. I am going to take as many chapters as I need to in order to tell this crazy story. And trust me. With fifty-nine years to tell about, he has a ways to go. And I have a ways to go.

You are probably thinking: “Fifty-nine? I thought he was sixty-nine.” Well, yes, fifty-nine. After all, I started this story when he was ten. That left nine years untold. And they will remain thus. I hint at them, give you clues and glimpses, but they aren’t really important to the story.

Next, I drop you in the year 1970. He will be thirteen. And he will be meeting a surprise guest who will end up being his greatest ally. No, it isn’t a lover. But you will have to read the next chapter in order to find out who it is. And exactly what they are doing.

After that, I will bring you back to the here and now. Then it will be on to 1972, 1974, 1976, 1979 and 1980 before another return to the present. With each year, you will get a little more of a glimpse of who this man is and what he has done. And a better view of his family. Including his mother.

I am not sure how much overall dialogue will be used, but there will be some. And it has already begun creeping into the story. Well, actually, it just sort of had to be added at a certain point. So far, we have focused on what was going on inside his own head, not on what was being said. He was making mental observations on his life, his surroundings, and his lack of parental support. From the next chapter on, it will be more involved and less mental.

Other years to be included: 1982, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006 2008, 2010, 2012, and 2014. Of course, we will return to his present every now and then, and end in his present.I will go three to four years in memory, then switch to one or two chapters of here and now. this should give me a good even spread of the overall story and push it close to 60,000 words. which will be about 60 chapters. I hope.

One thought on “Two Chapters More…

Comments are closed.