Your Story Tonight…

I always loved listening to radio dramas when I was a kid. They always ended with “Your program tonight has been brought to you by…” and then they would list the sponsors. I kind of feel as if I should do that where the last story is concerned because it was truly inspired by the day’s events. Especially my current profession. So here goes.

“Tonight’s story was brought to you by Faith In Action, A nonprofit taxi service: taking you where you need to go. And by Stoner (yes, there is such a place) Drug, serving all your pharmaceutical needs for over 100 years, and still proud owners of one of the few remaining soda fountains in Southwest Iowa. And by Studio M hair salon, where you can get your hair washed, dyed, curled and permed (not necessarily the same thing), and possibly a manicure and tan while you wait.”

The irony is that I went to the drug store and picked up malts for all my passengers (the elderly lady I drove today insisted I go and get them, she paid for them) while my charges/fares got their hair done. But, part of the time I waited, I actually wrote the beginning of the story. Up to: “For about an Hour.”

Originally, Death was a man. But, as I rewrote the story (I should say, as I typed the story), I began wondering what it would be like to change the gender of Death. I do not believe that the gender bit has ever been done. Nor has anyone quite been given the lengthy explanation on how Death is chosen…at least, not in quite the same way. *smirks* Anyway, I hope y’all like it and run circles around it. I had fun writing it. Especially the last little twist…

