Days Off…

It’s amazing. I have reviewed many books and all my reviews have helped others buy those books. So if they trust me to write reviews, why don’t they investigate my books? I am mystified.

I am not sure where I have gone wrong. I write. That is my life. I do not pigeonhole myself or get cornered into writing a single genre. My heroes didn’t, why should I?

I know. I should be different. But I AM different. I may pattern my career after my heroes, but I am not exactly as they are. I am not writing my own “Martian Chronicles”, “Tarzan”, “Conan Saga”, Or “Dennis Dougan” stories. Instead, I have veered off into Deep Space and begun sagas of my own. “Rivers Of Blood”, “Strange Journeys”, and “”Saints & Sinners” just to name a few.

Ok, so I have gotten off topic. I was going to talk about days off, which do me no good at all. I am no work-a-holic by any stretch of the imagination, but the lack of a day of work does make a dent in the ol’ paycheck. But so does no sales where my books are concerned.

Things are getting a little thin here in my corner of the world. Work is not that easy to find. Sure, I may be a little picky. But I cannot afford short term work for long term bills. 90 days is not enough time to build anything. Neither is the spotty, inconsistent record of a temp service. A day here and a day there solves nothing for me either.

Job security does not exist in my corner of the world anymore. Neither does full time work. All you can get is temporary work. Or what I am doing right now, which is almost as bad…seeing how I am making less than minimum wage as a volunteer.

5 thoughts on “Days Off…

    1. Since the last recession, it has been a terrible time to be looking for work. I have been struggling with trying to find the backing I need to start my own business, which I began trying to start because I was tired of being unemployed. I returned to writing after taking a little time off in 2004 and have been trying to get that up and going so I can draw attention to my efforts elsewhere. But everything has been slow going. I was sort of lucky when the last recession hit because I went back to school, albeit for a short time, before I got sick and had to drop out.

      At the moment, I drive a taxi as a volunteer. mileage does not add up very quick, but it does help out on things. I do ghosting for others, but my last “lasting” ghost job has not contacted me back. He was supposed to when he was ready for the next assignment. Apparently, I wrote the last rough copy a little too good.

  1. Maybe you are trying too hard to make something work that isn’t intended to. Perhaps your greater destiny lies just outside your comfort zone, but to get there you have to let go of the things holding you down.

    If what you are doing is not working, change it. Pick up and move, go start somewhere fresh. I had no security when I left my world behind and I have never looked back. Terrifying, God yes! But also extremely liberating. That world I lived in was killing me, I had no idea how close I was to death until I managed to escape it, and now can look back on it with deep introspection.

    I didn’t die. You won’t die either. You are going to be okay.

    FYI, most people are assholes. They care about their book, not yours. They help themselves at your expense and will continue to do so if you let them. I learned that one from experience, and am still learning 😉 Go make it happen, because no one is going to make it happen for you. Hang in there

Comments are closed.