The Day After…

Today, I have felt like I was put through a marathon of extreme exercises, twisted into a yoga pretzel, then had a mud hole stomped where the sun don’t shine. I have barely been able to get up out of a chair, that is how stiff and sore I am. And bending over? Forget it. Even squatting to pick things up is a task I do not relish

Last night, I was so tired, I barely made it through the single post I made. I stopped playing on the internet and switched to an offline card game, but had to give it up due to heavyeyeliditis. I ceased to know anything, after hitting the bed, until this morning when the alarm went off. Squinting, I was hoping it was not as early as I knew it to be.

5 AM. I go to church every Sunday, and if you have-by chance-read any of my earlier posts, I am counter to most mainstreamers. I do not believe that my mission is to preach the wrong out of society. No, to me, that is the recipe for building the beast. Rather, I believe the purpose of us all are to help those who are less fortunate than ourselves–whether it be through donations or through creating jobs (now there is a novel idea, my dear Senators, why don’t you CREATE work so more people can actually have jobs? Oh, sorry, that would be too easy. Besides, you like to gripe about all the poor and tell us how fucking lazy you think we are. Never mind the fact that you have never walked in our shoes. You judge, therefore you are blind to your own lacks and have no clue what is really available where. And btw…I HAVE to work in order to keep what help I am getting. No really. Never mind that I am actually working harder than any one of you and getting absolutely nowhere, You still count me and people like me lazy. Even though you would turn up your nose at half the work we do because it is all that is available.)

I believe that judgment and condemnation is reserved for the Supreme Being, whatever you call Him/Her, if you believe at all. I also believe that there is no foundation for hate in any faith. It just is not supported by any of the books I have read (and I have quite the library and have read everything from the Tao Te Ching, the Bhagvad-Gita, The Tibetan Book Of The Dead, The Koran, The Kabbalah, The Essential Rumi (wonderful book that gives great insight to the actual meaning of things in the Koran) The Way Of The Pilgrim, and Anam Cara to the I Ching and the Essential Confucius and “Sioux Indian Religion”. As you see, I am well read. Add to this such “political” pieces as Machiavelli’s “The Prince” and “The Pocket Aristotle” as well as “Leadership Secrets Of Attila The Hun”. And the numerous books on world, period, and US history and I can prove any superiority theory null and void. I can draw comparisons to any time or empire in the past in what our dear leaders are standing for.

I know that there are a few people who either think me crazy or ignorant, but I actually know more than they do because I make it a habit to read and find things out. I do not simply accept what anyone tells me. I question everything. Even what preachers tend to tell me. If I do not have the reference, I go find it.

As an author, it is in my best interest to know. No one likes a book with inaccurate details on an era or people. Except, maybe, someone who is comfortable in their ignorance and wishes to perpetuate stereotypes and misinformation. I am neither. I have to KNOW that I am right in my portrayal of a people or empire.

But, then, I love to learn. I love finding something new. And I excel at foreign languages. I took four years in high school of French and one Of Spanish. I was also learning Japanese and Chinese until my young teachers stopped talking to me. I was also learning a bit of Italian…which I believe, if I can get her to agree to it, I will get my Italian friend to further educate me on.

Currently, I am learning another language, though, so will forego Italian any time soon. Yes, always remain willing to learn. If you stop learning, you stop growing. When you stop growing, you stop living.

4 thoughts on “The Day After…

  1. I wholeheartedly agree with the desire to learn, to be curious and questioning, and I would add another vital element to living……loving. We need to hone our listening skills and to be kind and generous with our compassion and love for others. Loving and Learning isn’t a bad mantra.

    1. I love deeply. I may sound cynical and hard, but I have seen it all. I grew to adulthood through four presidents and fought hard to get work under three more. When the bubble burst in 2007/2008. I was one of those wanting to build. I didn’t want to build a house, I wanted my own business (an aspiration I still have, even though I should be too old for dreams and visions). I am separated from the one I love by miles and an ocean. I am hoping to change that by Christmas…but, I am not sure.

      I do love my fellow man, I just get irritated with how he (and sometimes, she–in general) tends to twist things to fit his agendas, likes, dislikes, and vision for the world. Sometimes, man can be such an arrogant creature, while still ignorant to the full truth.

      Once he learns, he sees that the secret behind life is Love. nothing but love. But it seems that man today does not want to learn. He wants to turn a blind eye to the past and ignore the mistakes of those who came before. He wants to discount the facts just to vindicate his theories and ideals. He fails to see that ideals only work on paper. they do not solve real-time problems in the real world. they only add to.

      I agree wholeheartedly with what you have said, please do not think that I don’t. but it is easy to say. It is nearly impossible to get others to believe and have faith that love is all that is needed to make the world a better place. they tend to begin placing values and expectations instead of freely giving that love. It becomes conditional, according to the individual’s desire instead of remaining unconditional as it should be.

      1. The simplest truths are easy to say, but, sometimes, hard to follow. I often wonder why a lot of man/womankind in this world seem to be regressing in many areas. Why do we seem to thrive on hate and greed? Whatever happened to common courtesy? I agree that we need unconditional love, but that seems to be a goal that is rapidly being ignored.due to the arrogance of the ignorant. On another note, have the happiest possible of holidays, and may the New Year usher in one of better communication and understanding among the people of this planet.

      2. I agree. may the New Year usher in the enlightenment that we are truly only one single race with many varieties. Happy Holidays to you as well, and all who gather to share them with you.

Comments are closed.