A Month Of Thanksgiving: A Thanksgiving Tale, Chapter Eight

We slowly began putting our plan into action, one volunteer at a time. We began through the very young, teaching those we could pull in from their breaks. as we began setting the tone, Margot began reaching out to those arms makers who had a reason to invest in a revolution. Those arms dealers that needed people with a good education.

Ari began recruiting from the mercenaries who served the corporations. He found, at first, a small few who were discontent with their lot in life. And their jobs. Corruption, even in defense, could be found in the least likely place. A few million to make a super turn his head the other way…or to supply a handful of trainees who would be used to sabotage each corporation.

Ordinary people, who were tired of how the countries had become, now filtered in secretly. Disenfranchised workers. People hungry to learn. Or newly enlightened, but dispossessed, management. All had a reason.

Just as we had a reason. And we all wanted to break the power that the corporations held over us. We wanted a return to something we had all lost. Our country. Our freedom. Our ability to earn a living.

In our secret warehouse, deep within our building, we trained our revolutionaries. Our saboteurs. Our heroes. And they continued to come back.

For the knowledge. That was their driving need. Knowledge. It was their desire.

And the more they learned, the more they wanted to know. The more disgusted they became at the state of things around them. But we warned them not to show it, or we would be found out. And all would be arrested. They would have to bide their time. Wait for the right moment to strike. The moment when we could strike at all the Corporations.

And so they kept quiet. They let their frustration and anger build quietly. Slowly. With purpose.

We began buying weapons in secret. Our purpose, to wage a secret war against those who’d destroyed our countries and our freedoms. To rip away the riches of those who’d profited from the destruction of all that was right and proper. And to bring back all that had been stripped away from us. We were going to fight to bring back what was now illegal.

And the arms dealers were going to help us. They were nonpartisan. Nor could the corporations control them. And that made it that much better. Easier.

The mercs taught our citizen soldiers how to fight. How to sabotage. How to cripple and maim. And how to hide their weapons so that the scanners couldn’t pick them up.

I had to smile. I remembered most of those tactics. But I was now too slow to show them correctly. I bowed my head.

I left temporarily to go put on my old uniform. Twelve stories up, I put on my dress fatigues. Complete with my officer markings. Lieutenant Colonel. I had been pretty high in the command before my being wounded.

I returned. Instantly, all the mercenaries saluted me. I smiled nervously. “At ease.”

One of them approached. “Colonel, I thought I had recognized you. I served with you in the last war.”

I looked at him intently. “How many more of your fellows are veterans?”

He stood at attention. “All.”

I smiled. “Can you sway them?”

He smiled back at me. “Sir, once I tell them who I saw, they will rally around you. It won’t matter if they were mercenaries in the war or your own fellow soldiers. You have that kind of respect from those who have fought for and against you.”

I looked him in the eye. “Please soldier. At ease before you strain something.”

He loosened up. “Sir, if they catch wind that you have a cause, they will know that it is right and just and they will fight for you this time. And they will fight the battle your way.”

I looked around the room at the other mercs who’d also stopped and saluted. They were all nodding in agreement. A second one stepped forward. “Sir, I fought against you the last time. I know you to be honest and fair. If we all spread word through the ranks of our fellow mercs, we can cause the biggest insurrection this country has ever seen, and from within.”

I looked at him. “We must do this my way. First, we spread a little panic. Then we rise up from within. this means that you ‘accidentally’ allow the ones who sabotage, or the ones who plant the bombs, to escape. Then, you conveniently abandon your posts–claiming to be searching for the culprits–and allow the sabotage or bombs to do their jobs.”

The merc smiled and saluted. “Yes, Colonel. From now on, we only take orders from you.

I smiled. “Good. then spread the word.”

That night, I lay down beside Margot. She rolled over and nestled against me. “You looked fetching in your uniform, Love. I love a man in a uniform.” I looked over to find her smiling.

I grinned at her. “I figured it was the only way to get their attention. Up to that point, I had merely been the financier for this little revolution. Now, I am their leader.”

She tried to look worried. “Does this mean you will have to go out and fight?”

I shrugged. “Maybe. Just depends on how well our citizen soldiers and mercenaries do their job. It’s going to be fun turning the corporations’ own soldiers against them. As well as their workforce.”

She playfully punched me in the arm. “Don’t you mean their slave force?”

I grinned. “Of Course. What could I have been thinking?”

She began laughing. “You were thinking of my naked body here beside you and what you really want to do right now.”

I pulled her to me and kissed her lips. I felt her softness against my hardened body. Of course I had been thinking of her. She was my greatest love. I smiled at her as she played with the hairs on my chest. I looked at the calendar. It was November 14.

